Dogs and Breakdown Insurance

ackle

Hello Everybody !

We are relativly new to motorhoming but not total newbies as used to ( before age got to us) travel in a long wheelbase transit that I used for work.

About to take delivery of new Pilote and have been doing as much reading as I can to sort out insurance.

A large part of the decision to get a motorhome now I am RETIRED ! was prompted by wishing to take our two dogs with us.

A few weeks ago read a very informative thread/letter/reply somewhere about the attitude of continental breakdown services to pets. Not sure if it was here, elsewhere or in a magazine.

Trouble is, didn't note it's location down and now despite spending a lot of time searching everywhere I think I may have seen it, can't find it !

Can anyone point me towards it or give recommendations as to which service to go with. Want one that repatriates us and dogs in event of accident/event that immobilises motorhome.

Thanks in anticipation,

Andy

Good to see another Pilote owner on the forum - what model is it?

We have a dog and go abroad and I can't believe any dog has actually been left abroad when the MH has broken down when the dog can travel in the MH in the event of 'repatriation'.

This question was brought up on Tripadvisor about four years ago and the Insurance Companies said, as far as they know, no dog has ever been left abroad.

Also good to see you intend taking the Pilote back to the place of its birth - perhaps our paths may cross over there sometime in the future.

:-D :-D :-D :-D

I know this won't apply to the OP, but those of us with older vehicles need to be aware that most breakdown companies will not cover vehicles over ten years old.

One of the exceptions is ADAC, who will also repatriate your dog and your granny, and all the necessary paraphenalia!

emmerson - 2017-06-29 10:05 PM