Some issues as I am new to this.

tartan

Hi,

well I am only 5 days into motor homing so bear with me.I have two issues,one is with the engine management light on permanently (an OBD hand held is on the way to try an find out what the fault code is)the second is that even on level ground the reverse seems to be not too happy and makes a noise that's its sort of struggling.Also lastly the hose to fill the fresh water,does it have to be food quality or will a garden plastic coiling hose do?many thanks

Thanks Eric. In that case I can't comment on the clutch issue. There was a problem with vans of that period regarding a severe judder, but it seemed the 3.0 litre engines did not suffer. It was mainly to do with high gearing in reverse, and the desire to manoeuvre slowly without excessive clutch slip. If the engine was loaded at too low revs, it seems the electronics couldn't cope, and the result was severe uneven running that somehow caused a sympathetic vibration in the whole power train. Fiat made various modifications, eventually having gearboxes stripped and a new reverse gear shaft installed with a lower ratio.

I suppose the problem you are experiencing may relate to the engine management light remaining on, as I believe this can result from various faults. Good luck with the code reader.

Re the hose, food grade is ideal but as the water only passes through en-route to the tank, I've never bothered and just use a dedicated hose pipe that is, I guess, garden grade. It hasn't tainted the water (we don't in any case drink it unless in tea/coffee), as I suspect it doesn't have enough "dwell" time to acquire one.

There’s an example of a 2007 Lunar Roadstar 786 here:

http://www.becksmotorhomes.com/vehicle/2007-lunar-roadstar-786