Rapido 997M 2006

cdavey1

Hi All

I'm looking to change my Niesmann and Bischoff Arto 64GL 2003 for a Rapido 997M 2006 with the Mercedes 2.7 Semi Auto Box. I've been trying to read about the Rapido brand and specifically about the Mercedes Engine and Gearbox as I know nothing about them. Any comments or info on whether this engine is good and build quality of the Rapido before I commit would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance.

Chris

I have no knowledge of Rapidos but I had two MHs with that engine and gearbox, the last one being an Auto-trail Grande Frontier (yes, I know!) which was much maligned but I loved it.

The engine and gearbox combination is great. We towed a trailer with a Smart and you just didn't know it was there, no matter what the terrain. I recall a bit of a lag when accelerating hard under various conditions but, once used to it, you just took it in your stride. A very relaxing drive on long distance cruising.

Not so much an engine/gearbox issue, more chassis related but there is more of a roll than normal, although, to be fair, I only realised in retrospect after I got my first Fiat-based MH.

We are on our 2nd Rapido which is 7.4m island bed on a Fiat base. We have had no problems other than below, with the Rapido build or coach work. The latter needs a good polish and wax annually. (That is all it gets ! Btw use a non silicon marine polish) .

We did have a leak between the flexible roof lining and roof panelling, It was a known problem with Rapidos with roof rail fixings. Rapido workforce were a little light, or as in our case, non existent , mastic under and around the roof fixings. No damage was caused in spite of the cascade of water from the rear hatch.

We had a MOT failure due to faulty wiring of a fog light,

Only other complaint that Rapido (may be a continental thing) has a minimal number of mains power sockets.