Solar Panel and Snow

potus4388

My solar panel is currently covered in snow and in fact, it is still snowing heavily here. I would have thought that because of this, it would not be charging my batteries, however, I have just checked the solar controller and the lights seem to indicate that my leisure andvehicle battery are indeed charging, would this normally be the case?

I have had no previous experience of solar panels in the winter and would appreciate any comments.

Many thanks.

Snow can reduce the amount of light reaching the Silicon Cells, to what extent will depend on the depth of snow and the size of the snow flake!!

Noticed on the rooflight in the house that fine snow seems to compact more reducing light transmission as opposed to large flakes which seems to give the snow are more open appearance.

If you have an MPPT Solar regulator it is likely to be more effective, but not sure the charge would be much, even with a thin layer of snow?

At 4.49 pm you had just checked your solar controller and the leisure battery was charging! The sun was out! It's now 6.42 pm and the sun has gone, it's night! What does your solar controller read now?

Is your controller showing the voltage or a LED indicating the panel is producing charge?

If the later they will show the panel working which is true, but it might only be a low voltage, say 5v, which will not be charging. Or to put it another way, a green light will indicate anything over 0v, but will only charge your batteries when the output is over the battery voltage.

Whenever our 100 watt panel has had snow cover on it, the effective measured current output has been zero.

I have monitored our panel(s) over 10 years and whilst I have seen output voltages (under 12 volts) when parked near street lights and even the full moon, I have never seen any current worth having under those conditions.