motorhome storage between trips and over winter..

teamholmes18

Hi there..

Im brand new to the whole motorhome game and in our first 12 months of ownership have fallen foul to a few blips that I cant help think are down to our own fault/lack of knowledge.. especially around storing the motorhome between trips and over winter.

The blips we have encountered were all resolved, but a little costly.. including a blind spring over-stretching causing the blind not to retract - which we were later told should always be stored in the up position especially over winter and more recently... filling our water tank upon arrival at a site, turning the water pump and heater on, and the pipes bursting under the sink leaving us up to our ankles in water... This is only recently so we've not found out why this happens, but I am wondering if after last use the water system was left with air/ice in and that has caused the pressure build up to burst the pipes.... all fixed now though..

So really my question is - could you people in the know.. give me some guidance.. even a step by step procedure of things to do and check when we a) park our motorhome up after a trip for a few weeks between trips and b) what we should be looking to do to shut our motorhome down over the winter period ready for late autumn/spring use the following year.

Many thanks

Duncan