athermic glass OR plastic double glazed windows - which is best ?

dream machine

I am considering buying a van based motorhome fitted with the athermic glass windows - an Autosleeper model - but how do these windows compare to normal plastic double glazed windows ?

Are they as good for insulation hot / cold ? what about condensation being glass ?

I would value opinion from people who have experience of both types.

thanks

I've never camped in freezing weather in an athermic glass windowed van but they work OK in temperate climates - spring, summer, autumn in Europe - with the wide variation of temperatures.

In my view of far greater importance in keeping heat in or out is the level of insulation in the van body, but if it were the layout I wanted at a decent price I would not worry about either.

I have no experience of Athermic glass in practice compared to double glazed units but I do not like the Autosleepers window arrangement because there are no opening windows apart from maybe a couple of small sliding sections. This is a big no no for me as it significantly limits ventilation options.

Based on previous forum discussions about the glass panes fitted to some Auto-Sleepers panel-van conversions, my understanding is that they are actually made of clear glass with an ‘athermic’ film stuck on.

They will definitely not be as effective for keeping heat in as double-glazed plastic windows, though might be pretty good for reflecting sunlight.

dream machine - 2018-08-18 1:19 PM

I am considering buying a van based motorhome fitted with the athermic glass windows - an Autosleeper model - but how do these windows compare to normal plastic double glazed windows ?

Are they as good for insulation hot / cold ? what about condensation being glass ?

I would value opinion from people who have experience of both types.

thanks