Ducato 250 Cannot change Time on Dash

Laurence

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here. Have often read and appreciated the advice on the forum over the years, but never needed help or felt the need to contribute - but that has changed.

Have been caravanning (to start with) and motorhoming for over 35 years, and we travel a lot round Europe and the UK - in fact we are just back from Portugal.

We have a 2017 Laika Ecovip 600 that is a year old this month. It is a 6m A Class van based on the Fiat 250 H43 heavy chassis, with the 148hp engine, the comfortmatic gearbox, and it has the reconfigurable dash display. It's a super wagon.

The issue is quite minor, more an inconvenience, but I would value any advice or knowledge on how I might solve it.

The vehicle came with the UConnect satnav fitted, which was so useless it took 2 days to realise it was in Spain and not the UK, and after a few months of getting fed up with it I decided to replace it with a Pioneer 2din unit designed for campers (AVIC-Z810DAB-C).

Some of the settings for the vehicle were done through the UConnect settings, including the setting of the time on the dashboard. The Pioneer satnav, of course, picks up the correct time through the GPS receiver, but my dash time seems fixed, and I cannot alter it. There is a mode button to the right of the steering wheel, but 'Time' is not available - it probably would have been for vehicles not fitted with the UConnect.

So with the clocks going back the dash time is an hour out, and its not difficult to remember that, but I assume that if the battery were disconnected for a period the dash time might go to zero and I would have no means of resetting it.

I have spoken to the Fiat helpline and they were talking about reconfiguring the ECM or a possible dash change, which would be overkill, so I wondered if anyone on here had experienced something similar, or if anyone knew of a workaround.