rear view camera - spare wires

Barry38

I am in the process of changing the rear high level brake light fitting on my 2009 Autocruise Rythm Peugeot X250 and fitting a rear view camera and reversing camera in place.

Does anyone have a recommendation for a reasonable cost camera and cab monitor.?

There is an unused 3 pin socket at the brake light point with wires coloured a)orange/green

b)white and c) black . There is a second single spade connection with 2 x white/orange wires and a third single spade connection with 2 x pink wires.

Does anyone know what any of these wires are for and where they are terminated ?

I was an industrial electrical engineer before retirement so I have the ability to do whatever is necessary to make use of the spare cables with regards to fitting a camera/s

Any help would be appreciated.

To avoid complications in installation, you ideally need a combined camera/monitor rear view system in which all components are compatible.

Dometic do a twin camera plus 5" monitor system kit that is available via Conrad Anderson. It includes a high mounted camera housing to which you re-fit the existing high level brake light, the monitor, a 12V power supply, all interconnecting cables, and automatic switching (if you choose to make the reversing light connection) from rear view to reversing view when reverse gear is engaged. There is no rear mike, so sound is not available. All you need to identify within the van is an ignition switched 12V supply, a system earth, and a 12V feed from the reversing light.