using laptop abroad

john steggles

Can someone please help?

I am shortly going to New Zealand motorhoming for three months and wish to take my laptop with me to access e-mails, download pictures from a digital camera and also generallu get access to the internet.

I notice from adverts that a lot of campsites have internet access.

As a complete novice to computing can someone please tell me how I can access the net and retreive my e-mails?

Thanks in anticipation,

john steggles (lol) (lol)

Hi John,

I did reply to this one before, but it got lost! I understand that your PC is wi fi enabled - so - when you get to your campsite which has wi fi, you may need to pay for a connection at the reception and will be given a password, some campsites do not need a password to connect to their internet. When your PC boots up it will detect all connections available, double clicking on the bottom right monitor icon and selecting from the next box, 'view wireless networks' will display available connections, choose one and select connect. If a password is required, enter it and you will be connected.

Some sites and Hot spots if available have limited connectivity, and will allow you to purchase a connection on line with a credit card, once the form has been completed, an email is sent to you providing a password to connect fully with the internet.

Regarding email, you will be able to receive email from your ISP but you may not be able to send email, join a worldwide facility like Hotmail and you can then send your email as well.

If you download and install the free skype application before you go, you may make free telephone calls to other Skype users, and cheap telephone calls to landlines. Typically phoning Aussie from UK costs about a penny a min to a landline.

Regards Terry

Hi John,

At present I'm using my laptop on a site in Spain which has free wifi. It's great to just sit in the van with the laptop instead of looking for an internet cafe.