SUNFLOWER OIL/DIESEL

Paul Morgan

SUNFLOWER OIL/DIESEL  

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

On our recent trip to France/Spain. While we were stopped on an excellent Motor Home Aire at Biarritz (with Electric/Water/Grey/Toilets) which was free!!! we met a very nice German man, who soon started to draw a crowd around his van, as he was pouring gallons of Sunflower Oil into his diesel tank!!

What I could gather is that he had his Hymer converted so that it would work on both diesel and oil. The conversion box was under the bonnet and measured about 6"x4"x1". He tried to explain that conversion in germany cost about £200 and said that the engine started on diesel and then when the engine was warm it went over to the sunflower oil.

As you can tell I am an expert at engines I don't think! Does anybody out there know anything of this set up? I have since kooked into the costs of oil and it is quite a lot cheaper than diesel.

Paul "worms"

8-) Please remember that you will have to inform the customs and excise of the change of fuel (part or whole use) and make a regular return of litres used. You will then be required to pay a duty on this. If you feel they will not find you out remember the use of an undeclared fuel on the road means unlimited fine, possible prison AND confiscation (immediately) of the vehicle. Personally driving behind such a conversion is like travelling behind a chip shop-it stinks! *-)

Paul,

If you want to do it really cheap and avoid the smell of a chip van following you, you simply buy your (non-dutiable) diesel from a co-operative farmer or canal boat chandler and then remove the red dye by filtering it through carbon. BBQ charcoal does the job, and you can set up a simple system inside your garage.

It should fit nicely alongside your whisky still . . .