Left hand drive?

grocer jack

Hi there! having just passed 60, her indoors & I have decided to pack it all in & go full timing. We are complete novices and don't yet own a motorhome. We have loads of questions, but one basic one I want to start with is.......left or right hand drive. We intend spending half the year in Blighty and half over la Manche. guidance please on this subject as it obviously affects which manufactiurers we look at. Thanks in anticipation. :-D

Hi, best thing to do is have a go in both, One thing to think off is this. If you have not done a lot of driving in europe it will pay to go for LH drive, at the most you will be sitting in the right place when driving, so you are 50% right to start with. When in the uk, well you know the layouts of the roads etc so are 50% there if you see what I mean.

also LH maybe less money, and would allow you to buy from germany etc.

terry

Guest Frank Wilkinson

I don't claim to know anything about the relative merits of LHD or RHD in your case but what does occur to me is that LHD part-ex prices may be lower in a few years if you are trading in in the U.K.

Having said that though, the argument for LHD on unfamiliar Continental roads does have some merit but is it all that important?

I never found towing a caravan with a RHD car any problem when abroad as I always had a navigator to watch the wing mirror but if you're ever going to be alone I suppose that LHD would be a boon in Europe but then of course you're at a disadvantage in the U.K.

I'm going round in circles here so I'll sign off!

Hi,