Newbie with a water question

Karen-W

Newbie here looking for advice from you experts. We have a Hymer C514 2006 which we took away at the weekend. We filled the fresh water and all was good until we turned on the tap when water started to flow out from underneath at the back of the motorhome. I checked the red toggle on the boiler and it was pulled up which I believe is the closed position (when I pushed it down the water flowed out even faster!) Is there something we've missed - another tap or valve that needs to be closed?? Thanks in advance and apologies if I don't get back to anyone straight away as I'm working today but I'll be back on this evening

I don't know about the Hymer but generally UP is open, and there are probably 2 valves, one for cold and the red for hot. There is also probably the emergency dump valve which dumps the water if the temperature drops below about 8° so check that's closed too.

If the red toggle on the boiler is pulled up then the frost valve is closed so that’s good.

I suspect the grey water emptying valve has been left open so as you operate the tap the water goes down the drain, into the grey water holding tank and then straight out through the emptying valve. Close the valve and you’ll probably be fine.

As above. Check which location the water is coming from, and if it isn't the same as when the "red drain" is opened, the issue isn't with that.

Water installation varies dramatically, but FWIW, my rather newer Hymer has two additional drain cocks, one each in the h & c pipes to assist with drain down of the whole system system, and they vent through the floor.

There’s a review of a 2006 Hymer C-Classic 514 model here

https://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/motorhomes/reviews/motorhomes/details/motorhome-review-hymer-c-classic-514-from-2007/899014

and a YouTube video here