3 way fridge draining engine battery

Jod.82

Hi all.

I've just bought a 02 fiat ducato moncoya. I have it plugged in to mains when parked to keep the fridge fresh and cold but I got to it the other day and found the fridge was off. I checked 230v mains, that was on but the fridge wouldn't switch on. I removed the fridge to get at the electrical box on top of it and found that I hadn't the 12volt supply. I checked the two leisure batteries and I had 12 volts . So then I went to the ignition and it was dead 0 volts...

My questions are,

1. how does a 3 way fridge work, is there a supply signal from the key switch to run it off the batteries when the engine is running?

2. Should the battery charger charge the engine battery while the camper is plugged in?

The fridge is an electrolux rm7505.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to campers.

Thanks

Joe

The RN7505 is connected to both the battery directly, and to the vehicle's alternator D+ terminal, and sorts itself out.

See manual pages 19 20 https://www.electrolux.ie/support/user-manuals/?q=rm7505

The live feed only works the electronics [its brain not chilling circuit] so does not chill the fridge, the supply from the alternator's D+, terminal when available, supplies the power to chill the fridge.

So the fridge electronics is live and able to respond to what powering supplies are available, but ensures the high current drain chilling would take is only available whilst the alternator is spinning adequately.

Thanks Guys. I need to check to see if the 12v supply is connected to the engine battery or the leasure battery. That manual was very helpful.

Does anyone know if the engine battery should be charging while the camper is plugged in?

I think your van is probably a Moncayo? but you haven't said which model or year - which might make a difference.