Trumatic Gas Heater Ignition

ramsay

Hi

The ignition would not work on my gas heater I replaced the battery on the ignition box. That worked perfect gas heater now works.only other issue I have with the heater now is the ignition constantly clicks even when the gas flame is on? It's been like that since I bought the motorhome 2 years ago Fiat Ducato roller team 2ltrD 2003 Does this effect the ignition box anyway, ? Does the ignition box need replaced? Thanks.

I think your 2003 “Auto Roller 2” has a Trumatic S-3002 convector heater (for which operating instructions can be found here)

https://www.truma.com/uk/en/service/self-service/product-family/truma-s-heaters?workspace=products&render_object_id=4f663bd1-e184-464c-9a56-6d66fa8d31e2

as that appliance has a small compartment in the 'ignition box' to contain an AA battery that provides auto-ignition for the gas burner. (drawing attached below).

I’ve no hands-onl experience of these Truma heaters, but there will be a ‘sensor’ on the gas-burner assembly that stops the ignition process once the gas-burner has properly lit. The igniter will click each time it produces a spark and the clicking should stop when the ‘sensor’ recognises that the gas has lit.

These (silent) videos show an early model S-3002 heater being disassembled and re-assembled

and the 1st photo attached below shows the burner-unit with the gas-ignition 'sparker' arrowed in red and the flame-sensor 'probe' arrowed in green

This video shows the burner unit removed from the heater for bench-testing and the gas-igniter can be seen sparking

(2nd photo below refers)

I don’t know what will need to be done to stop the clicking in your case. It may just be that the gas-burner assembly needs a good clean - do you know when the heater was last serviced?

690171808_batterycompartment.png.bb86306fc15a4d18ac34826b1c958680.png

burner.jpg.1ebd4aab16bff60e4dead8095724a78f.jpg

burner2.jpg.95821bf661fe59009816e7f1d084e224.jpg