2008 Ducato Front Suspension Arm Rear Bush Replacement - advice appreciated

johnlc

My 2008 East Neuk Camper has had a really bad MOT failure.

Sill welding on both sides and suspension bush replacements on both sides are mandatory for a pass.

The exact wording is "Suspension arm pin or bush excessively worn Nearside Front (Rear Bush)"

Plus the same wording for the offside.

A well known Tyre/Service Centre - where the van was MOT'd - is quoting £165 per side to replace these bushes.

Another garage I took it to is suggesting it needs wishbone replacement on both sides, and quoting nearly double the first price.

Am I being taken for a ride by the second garage? (And maybe the first?)

I have no technical knowledge but have looked at images on the web and replacement parts A bush that seems to fit the description is for sale for under £20.

I would really appreciate advice from anyone with the relevant technical knowledge.

The first quote for the welding - one outer sill corroded full length, the other outer sill partly corroded and an inner sill partly corroded - is coming through at £1500.

Thanks in advance for any responses

I have a Transit and in 2021 I had front suspension bushes (2) replaced for £225 ex vat labour and £38 ex vat parts. At the same time I had the front part of both cills replaced because they had corroded after some idiot crushed them by not jacking in the correct place when changing tyres. For that I paid £360 ex vat.

This was done at a Ford and Skoda dealer which I use for the van and our car. I might have been able to get the work done cheaper somewhere else but their service is excellent to the extent of the Skoda service manager spending 30 minutes on the phone advising on a problem my son had with his Superb while on a visit to the UK, even though he knew there was no chance of a job coming from it. That counts for something. Not like the service from the dealers for my previous German car.

I hope that helps