Dont understand my solar charging rate

DavyS

My motorhome has stood unused and unplugged from EHU for a couple of months so I thought I had better check the state of its batteries. The weather has been overcast recently but before then quite bright but the 160W panel obscured by frost.

It was the first sunny day for a long time but the sun was very low and weak.  The cab battery measured 13.8v; the hab battery 14.3v

I was expecting the batteries to be in need of a charge so I was very surprised by these high voltages. But perhaps I have misunderstood? The MPPT charge controller displays a solar panel voltage of 14.6v but maybe almost no current?

Could the charge voltage be 14v but the battery still flat cos no current?

I am new to this solar game so would welcome any thoughts.

If your motorhome did not have a solar panel and it was unused and unplugged from an EHU, it's to be expected that the charge state of its leisure and starter battery would have reduced significantly (particularly the starter battery that would be maintaining the vehicle's electronics) after a couple of months. Measuring the batteries' voltage at that point would reveal what their charge state was. 

If the motorhome is then connected to an EHU, the motorhome's on-board charger will start to charge the leisure battery (and perhaps the starter battery too). The output from a charger will be from 13.8V to 14.4V and, if the batteries' voltage is checked while the charger is operating, it's the charger's output voltage that will be being read, not the batteries charge state.

It's much the same in your case - the 13.8V and 14.3V values are the voltages that the solar panel is providing to the batteries. They do not represent the batteries' charge state, as even a top quality fully-charged 12V battery will not have an 'at rest' voltage exceeding 13V.