Towball electrics

Philip

Hi all

I have got a towball fitted on my 1993 Kon-tiki.

I now want to fit the electrics, I have been told that there is a junction box underneath somewhere.

I have crawled all underneath and cannot find one, if one exists can someone tell me where to look please.

If you can't find a junction box, then there may well not be one to find.

I've no practical experience in this field, but I believe traditional practice in 1993 would be to obtain a universal kit for adding 'towball electrics' to a vehicle and then to graft that directly into the vehicle's original wiring-system on a cable-by-cable basis.

Hi phillip

Sorry, don't know much about the kontiki electrics but have not come across a junction box for towbar electrics in previous motorhomes we have had.

The only suggestion I could make is perhaps it is in the engine bay rather than underneath?

Good luck, David

Make up a separate fuse box connected to battery using as many core cable as you want relays. I use a separate relay for each function.e.g. flashers r&l brakes rev lights fridge or anything else you fancy.Mount the relays on a board and find a suitable mounting place with sufficient cable to allow movement for servicing.Connect the battery lives to 30 on relays after the fuse of course.Locate each wire at the rear of the vehicle and cut and solder and insulate after the sensor wires are connected and using 5-6-7-core wire is easiest and route these to relays and connect them to 85.These can be thinner cable.Take a thick cable and connect to battery earth and route this to rear.Connect 5-6-7-core heavy duty cable and connect to the towing socket in relative order from 87.Then connect the 86 terminal to earth.Make sure that each relay is connected correctly from its appropriate fuse and mark for future ref.Test out thoroughly and happy motoring.

g4oip - 2007-08-06 11:49 AM

Make up a separate fuse box connected to battery using as many core cable as

""" SNIP """