Microwaves!

Ianltd

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to owning a motorhome, but have rented a few over the years and really enjoyed it.

My wife and I are presently setting up and buying all the goodies and bits and pieces (you know.........proper caravan kettle, plates, cups T.V etc) to fill our new motorhome with when we take delivery of it on 18th August at 9am sharp!!

Anyhow, she asked me the other day, 'why can't we use a standard microwave when connected to an electric hook-up?'

I know caravan microwaves are lower wattage and there is obviously a reason for this as there is for the kettles etc.

Can anyone enlighten us as to why?

I don't want to go blowing up the site or the motorhome!!

Thank you in advance,

Kind regards,

Ian

Guest caraprof

There's nothing to stop you using a standard microwave oven in a motorhome. Most domestic ones are about 800 watts I think so as long as you weren't using anything else even the smallest (4 amp) EHU would cope and on most sites you could use a low-wattage kettle at the same time.

My built-in microwave in my motorhome is 600 watts and I suspect that the main reason for smaller ones in motorhomes is to do with compactness rather than electrical drain. In the place where mine's fitted you couldn't really fit a larger domestic one.

We use ours a lot by the way, especially for my morning bowl of porridge which I can cook in the bowl. Much less messy than using a pan!

Thanks caraprof,

I was replying to Pete just before your post came through!

That's very interesting, we will have to look at what's about..we have two microwaves, one is a Combi cook one, and the other is a little 700w just for heating porridge etc. as you do :-D

Thanks for the interest,

Cheers,

Ian

Guest caraprof