Van security - AutoSleeper Executive

Catman

I'm a newbie so go easy on me!

I recently acquired an AutoSleeper Executive 2004 and am concerned about security from break-in/theft. To be honest I don't know what this van comes with in terms of security.....all I know is that it has central locking.....I have a few questions:

1. What is it likely to have in terms of alarm/immobiliser?

2. How can I establish what it has…..from the documentation nothing is mentioned hence I assume it has nothing.

3. Has anyone got any thoughts (recommendation to do or not to do) regarding security systems, immobilisers, alarms, deadlocks etc.

The above has been partly bought about by the recent stories about gas attacks…..I don’t buy into the gas attack theory but it does seem that many ‘vans get broken into and I want to secure myself as best as possible.

Rayjsj - 2007-08-20 9:37 PM

Do a search on 'Security' there have been lots of threads about it,lots of great info and tips. good luck :D

Doh! :$

Oh yes, you can tell i'm a newbie!

Yup some good threads in that search, that should keep me busy for a while.

Thanks to you both.

Your Peugeot base vehicle comes with a very effective factory fitted immobiliser, so all you need is an alarm activated by any door or the bonnet being opened, plus some means (infra red or ultra sonic) of activating the alarm with a movement detector in the 'van. Also, you need to be able to activate the alarm yourself, if you are in the 'van - a so called panic alarm. One other thing to think about with the Peugeot base vehicle is the problem that, if someone steals your fuel cap, they can get a key made to fit it, which will then also fit your ignition. A number of 'vans have been reported stolen in this way. Search this site using Peugeot key for more details and ways round the problem.

Brian