Payload???

Quillaner

And this is where I reveal myself as a complete novice... I am about to buy a motorhome. What sort of payload is needed for a family of four?

Daft question it may be but the motorhome I'm looking at seems to have a payload of 400kg. It doesn't sound like much but the motorhome is marketed as suitable for four people.

Just don't want to make an expensive mistake!

Thanks for any advice.

Guest JudgeMental

welcome!

If you want some meaningful advice best to start with what model is it?

what kind of load do you intend carrying? bikes, sports equipment etc. give us an idea and you may get a more meaningful response

also try using the search facility, there have been lots of threads regards weight...

remember to click "date limit" and choose "all threads"

Hi Jonathan and welcome. Payload is the difference between the "mass in running order" (MIRO) and the "maximum technically permitted laden weight" (MTPLM. MIRO is generally the weight of the vehicle with the driver and 75% fuel and water. Bear in mind that your passengers combined weights will take up a part of your payload and 400 KGS starts to look pretty slim for four people.

D.

Jonathan - Whatever payload you see quoted do please check carefully how this figure was arrived at as not all manufacturers use the same formula when publishing these weights.

The recognised standard formula for unladen weight allows for 'the vehicle in working order, the driver (75kg), gas, fresh water and fuel tanks to 90% of their capacity, wheel jack and the normally supplied vehicle tools'. There is also a tolerance of +/- 5% to take account off.

Note that the figures published in MMM are the manufacturers supplied figures and therefore you cannot compare the payloads on a like for like basis. As I feel that 400kg is going to be marginal for your use the only safe way to be sure is to have the vehicle your interested in weighed (both axles) with you and all your clobber onboard.