Reclaiming tax on LPG for Motorhome Domestic Use

catinou

Hi all,

Does anybody reclaim part of the tax back from the cost of LPG, which is used solely for heating / domestic use in a motorhome?

We are going to the NEC this weekend and on my husband's lists of "needs" ("wants" to me but he pays the bills!) is refillable lightweight fixed gas canisters. Being a bookkeeper I like to know the costs and benefits of anything to do with spending (unless I am doing it of course!)

Somewhere in the dark recesses of my brain I recall something I have read / seen during the last couple of years that you can reclaim part of the excise duty on LPG purchased for use in motorhomes. Apparently the tax is different than tax charged for running your engine on LPG and you are charged the higher, vehicle running, amount at the pumps.

Like a dog with a bone I searched the net and this site but can't find the info I need, so have telephoned the Customs & Excise office to enquire. They took some time to get the answer but finally came back to say that YES you can and they are sending me a copy of "Notice 184a" which will explain the excise situation - no hope of understanding that then. 8-)

A very nice man called Craig then cheered me up no end by saying he would also send me the form H0294 to claim the relief :-D Being impatient, and being, hopefully, on the end of the postie's strike I then tried to find the above mentioned publications / forms - found the article (written in "customs speak" so no help there 8-) ) but have obviously got the reclaim form no. wrong, or did he give me the wrong one? Will he really send it?

If anybody can answer this I would be grateful, if not I will get back to you when (if) I receive the info........ *-)