Speedo in kph. Need to convert

Pelicanpete

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum and motorhoming, so hope to enjoy a lot of interaction with the experienced members!

I have just bought a new LHD Concorde Charisma in Germany and take delivery of it in early November to drive back and register it here.

It is on an Iveco Daily chassis and the speedo is expressed only in kmh.

Does anyone know where I can get hold of a 'card' which I can stick over the original speedo face, which shows both mph and kph?

I've Googled and found many such companies selling cards for Japanese imports (bikes and cars) but none that offer anything for an Iveco Daily.

I've found on ebay sets of adhesive numbers you can place in the appropriate places but I don't think these will work.

Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone have any suggestions to overcome my problem?

Welcome Pelicanpete

I've done this job on my MB 412. I got a card (£40 ish) from Deepcar Motorhomes who advertise in MMM/web. one of our regular contributors, Brian Kirby has posted recently with details of another supplier. Search on his name and PM him. I'm sure he can help.

You mustn't stick anything on the front glass. it's not acceptable to VOSA/DVLA.

Deepcar's card required trimming to fit. I took about .005mm too much off in one place and the back lights show through the tiny gap at night. Irritating to me as otherwise you wouldn't know anything had been changed. So if you have to trim, be very precise.

If the Iveco is anything like my MB you'll have to take the dash to bits and extract the speedo unit and then take IT to bits. Removing the old card may involve prising off the needle which should be done with GREAT CARE. Don't bend the spindle!

The new face may bear the legend "Miles" near the odometer but of course the numbers on display will be kms. I made up a "miles" label in Word and stuck it over the top.