The Law of Unintenional Consequences (A bit to do with Sevel Reversing Probems)

RoyH

I am putting this as a separate topic because I don't want to labour the main topics with a bit of rambling.

When I was a Transport Fleet Engineer long ago and had repsonibility for the engineering aspects of national fleet of some 1200 heavy and light goods vehilcles one of the operating companies had a fleet of 80 British Leyland 3.5ton gross FG box vans. Those old enough will remember the cabs had the doors at 45deg on the rear corner of the cab. These were replaced on a rolling programme and new models appeared with various "improvements". One of these was to change the mounting of the rear of the rear leaf springs with a slipper instead of a rubber bushed shackle. Presumblely to eliminate the wear in the rubber bushes.

A few months into the use of those vehicles with this modification and we were finding the the rear gearbox oils seals and bearings were breaking up. To cut this story, which is getting a bit long, the final result of the cause was that they had failed to realise that as the rear axle moved up and down to accomodate road surfaces the arc it was moving in was no longer restrained by the shackle but it was moving futher and the drive shaft was bottoming on the sliding splines. This was pushing the whole of the transmission and the engine forwards and the weakest link being the rear gearbox bearing was collapsing. All of the propshafts had to be shortened I think by, if I rembember correctly, 2 inches and British Leyland paid for the lot.

It wouldn't surprise me to find out that the Sevel engineers have modified something and then continued to use some original components and the have failed to notice that unintentional consequences will result.

Although I don't have a motorhome now, I have a caravan, I am following this with great interest to see what the outcome will be.