Folding bikes

Roamer

Hello Roamer

I have no knowledge or, experience of products from A S Bikes, the picture and specification look quite comprehensive but, how on earth they can produce a decent quality folding bicycle for this low cost (£169.95) defeats me. Usually, the frame and components will have been made in China. Any bike, folding or, otherwise at such a very low cost, should cause alarm bells to ring.

Arguably, the finest folding bikes, in the world, are considered to be those made by 'BROMPTON', against which all others are compared, primarily, due to their extremely simple folding method and reliability, also 'DAHON' enjoy an excellent reputation. Expect to pay in excess of £500 for Brompton and, from £270 for Dahon.

Around 1991, I had a 'Moulton' (folder) built which, was subsequently sold 14 years later, with only 20% depreciation!

The absolute oracle publication, for both 'Folding' and 'Electric-Assist' bikes is: 'a to b' Magazine - www.atob.org.uk

other useful sites include: www.cycle-heaven.co.uk - www.simpsoncycles.co.uk - www.biketrax.co.uk - www.foldingbikes.co.uk - www.dorchestercycles.co.uk

As with Motorhomes, it is absolutely essential to 'Road-Test' (on asphalt - not a showground!) any prospective bicycle purchase, after it has been adjusted to your size. It is just possible that the two of you may even discover that different makes/models are more comfortable!

Happy hunting for your perfect 'Folder'.

Hi

We have a couple of folding bikes, they cost us £150 each around 6 years ago, not a lot of money but they are quite good quality, not like a Brompton, but then I didn't want to pay those prices! For the amount of running around we then did they were perfect, just tootling into towns etc form the camps site or having a leisurely ride around the locality. We upgraded to a couple of mountain bikes with full suspension (sooooooo comfortable!) as we tend to do more riding than we did when we bought the folders.