REVERSING CAMERA

booboo

HI could anybody please advise me on reversing cameras as im very new to motorhomes as some will know.when purchasing my motorhome in december i was offered one from the dealer at £450 fitted but with christmas and santas sack needing filled i thought i would just try and get by without one,but i feel i could really benefit from one with a bit added confidence reversing ,any my point is ive seen one in maplin a wireless one for £99.99 but just wondered if anyone new anything about them or any advice would be great are wireless as good as what the dealer would of fitted ?is it a case of you only get what you pay for?any help would be fantastic thanks alot KEITH

Guest Tracker

What make and size van are you buying?

If you have 'see through' vision via a window in the back of the van you may well not need a reversing camera at all?

However even with a rear window if it is quite high, as is the trend these days, you still might not have worthwhile through vision and certainly very little at rear bumper level.

I had a van without a rear window and it was sometimes pure guesswork knowing where the end of the van was when reversing, especially when reversing at an angle or turning round in a confined area - but a set of reversing sensors helped a lot.

My present van (Autotrail) does have a reversing camera but I find that as I can't look at the camera tv screen and both the mirrors simultaneously whilst reversing I have to doubt the camera's true worth as a reversing aid and I certainly would not pay £450 for one!

My camera is mounted above head height looking down and as such has very limited rearwards vision making it theoretically more suitable for avoiding close encounters of the bollard kind rather than as a substitute rear view mirror, although I do use it for this purpose on the road.