help! campervan or commercial?

ciron

Hello all, I am new to the world of motorhomes and would appreciate any advice on my problem. I am relocating 250 miles away from where i work, and will be working in london for 8 nights per month. Rather than keep putting on friends and family, i would like to buy an old campervan, (budget up to £2000). This budget obviously leaves me with a choice of older vans, and have heard many horror stories. All i want is it to have a bed for my sleeping bag, and some form of night time heating, i don`t need cooker, fridge etc, and it will not cover many miles, less than 1000 per year.

Do i go for something like a rascal/hi-ace or should i consider a commercial van such as an astra or vw transporter, and get it converted to what i need? Any advice would be greatly appreciated, thanks a lot Ciron.

Guest Tracker

You may also need a loo in the night?

The ability to have a cup of tea or coffee and a slice of toast maybe for breakfast might also be appreciated, as will the ability to wash and shave maybe?

So maybe a cooker, gas bottle, sink, water tanks, water pump, toilet are not such a bad idea after all?

Bare vans are very cold when the outside temperature drops and the cost of a part conversion might well be prohibitive as well as non recoverable because who else would want to buy a van like that?

An old motor caravan in good order will very likely still be worth what you paid for it (or maybe even more?) in a year or two as long as you take care of it.

The smaller the van the more discreet it is to park up quietly overnight.

An early Romahome on Citroen Visa van base comes to mind as being reasonable to drive and reasonable to live in short term for one, but I guess any compact camper van will do and suggest you get the best condition one you can find with the longest MOT.