Going to France

BensGrandad

I have a burning ambition to take my old 1978 Sherpa Highwayman camper to France for a few days. I have no worries about the mechanical ability of it as I would jump in it and drive to Cornwall or Scotland from my home in Sussex without a worry.

I am a little concerned about electric hook ups in France as I am sure that I have read in this magazine and others that you have to 'change the polarity'. Is this just a case of wiring an extention lead the opposite way round i.e our live to their neutral and our neutral to their live as I do not think that they have any earth cables on their electric. Any advice would be greatfully received but please do not be too technical as I am not an electrician and have very little knowledge of this.

If you use the search facility at the top of the page by entering "reverse polarity" it will bring up previous threads on this topic and will tell you what to do. We've used hook up many times in France and Spain and never experienced any problems and have never taken steps to check for reverse polarity. Maybe we've just been lucky.

Hello BG

You will only have to change polarity if it is wrong, you need a plug in tester (available at most good electrical shops, Screwfix or the like see one on the ECLeisure site below on the spares page) to find that out as it is not noticable under ordinary circumstances. Some would say it doesn't matter anyway, personally I don't subscribe to that view but have no intention to justify my reasons.

Probably the best route is to fit, or have fitted, a reverse polarity detector and changeover switch such as is available on

http://www.davenewell.co.uk/

click on 'Bits and Bobs, he does supply only I believe and only needs to be wired into the inlet supply this negates the need for the aditional tester or hook ups as it is a combined permanantly fitted unit, so is justifiable on the basis of cost if you have none of the bits and bobs already.