Thetford 250cs swivel cassette toilet

wooly

I am soon to have a new Mercedes sprinter van converted into a motorhome, I had anticipated having the new Thetford 250 CS toilet fitted, but have now been told that the 250 has problems, and not as good as the previous long established 200CS swivel cassette.

Have any long established members any experience and have had the chance to compare the two, I understand the new 250 has been fitted for some time by some of the manufacturers. (Peter at Swifts can you help)

Also has anybody experience of the optional extras, ie electric blade, ventilation unit and tank gauge. Is the vent unit as good as a Sog or would I still be as well to fit the long established and successful Sog

wooly:

I've no practical experience of the latest Thetford C-250 toilets and I'm not aware of any reported problems. However, it wouldn't surprise me unduly if there have been snags as the C-250 is significantly more complex than the C-200, particularly when some of the fancy options are taken into account.

For me, the improved, more domestic ergonomics of the new toilet's seat and bowl would be the main attraction. The C-250's slightly larger capacity cassette (18 litres rather than the C-200's 17) might be theoretically useful, but would not be a decisive selling-point in my case as, having become a SOG convert, I empty the cassette far more frequently than in the past as there's no longer any incentive to 'save' toilet chemicals. I couldn't care less about the C-250 cassette's wheels and pull-handle and I remain to be convinced that dragging a well-filled cassette across a less-than-smooth surface (like a campsite's rough grass) is a viable proposition.