2.8JTD Automatic?

neillking

Hi all, anyone know anything about the <06 Ducato auto box and in particular driving experiences and typical fuel consumption in an a-class? I'm familiar with autos having had several larger cars with them and have experienced the whole range from very thirsty right through to more economical than the equivalent manual(!). I've no experience or knowledge though of an auto on a 3.5-4t vehicle. And yes they do exist but may all be LHD. Any reports, links, etc., very welcome! The ones I can afford are likely to be 2004-2005 so we're not really talking new model here except maybe in a comparative sense.

Best regards, Neill.

PS: I tried searching and am now very familiar with both no-match and server-error!

I'm not sure there is ever an answer.

I don't know the Ducato but referring to fuel consumption My reckoning is that a lot depends on the driver.

Look at the manufactures technical details and you may find that they produce their consumption figures based on factory test speeds of say 56mph.

To achieve the highest fuel consumption the driver should then follow the factory data. Higher speed = less mpg. This also follows when moving away from corners etc.

I assume having several autos you know this but some may not. I reckon modern engines are not run in until 20,000 mls at least. That will take me another 8 years to achieve.

In between I don't bother with the mpg. The cheapest way is to leave it on the driveway.

When I get calls from people offering to save me money I always tell them I have a much better way, 'only use it half as much'

LB