Compressor fridge

devonwanderer

I am buying a new VW van conversion which comes with a compressor fridge. It is possible to have a 3 way absorption fitted instead. Does anyone have any suggestions as to the best. We usually stay on sites with hook up, but occasionally

CLs without electric. I have also read that the compressor type can be a bit noisy, especially at night. I would be glad of any advice. This is my first time on the forum, so thanks in advance for any replies.

Hi Keith and welcome to the site.

we have a compressor fridge and you couldn't pay me to switch back to 3-way.

compressor - more efficient - look better cos they don't need white plastic bits on the outside

yes - a bit noisy - but not found it to be a problem ad I'm a relatively light sleeper [ticking clocks drive me crazy]

we occasionally use hook-up - depends on weather - and how long we plan to stay on the site

better on ferry trips - can leave the fridge on

whose van conversion are you getting??

B-)

devonwanderer - 2008-04-20 5:32 PM

I am buying a new VW van conversion which comes with a compressor fridge. It is possible to have a 3 way absorption fitted instead. Does anyone have any suggestions as to the best. We usually stay on sites with hook up, but occasionally

CLs without electric. I have also read that the compressor type can be a bit noisy, especially at night. I would be glad of any advice. This is my first time on the forum, so thanks in advance for any replies.

Hi Keith,

Five years ago we wanted a compressor fridge in our timberland but we did not have enough space. I was very pleased as a few months later the had major problems with the "Hold Over" switches.

This was five years ago so I don't know what the out come was.

Like twooks your either hate em or love em. I think Mel E has one in his panel van conversion, he's more technically minded than me so he will give you chapter and verse.

Don

I can sleep with one on, gf can't, but she is a very light sleeper.