Newbie needing help

crag

I seem to have lost 12v power from the engine battery on my 1995 Kontiki/Peugeot. Leisure battery works fine but when switching to the engine battery the control panel shows nothing from the battery and the lights and everything don't work. All is well when swithced to leisure battery.

I know the battery is fine as the engine starts without a problem, but I am wondering if the fridge will work when driving or if the batteries will charge whilst driving.

Being a newbie I have checked fuses under the bonnet, in the glove box, and the ones on the consumer unit, but all is well with them. I have also checked the connections at the engine battery, and have studied the wiring diagram in the manual, but haven't a clue where else to look and don't really have anything to check things out with other than a voltmeter that I'm not overly confident of using.

It all worked fine until the vehicle had it's last visit (recent) to the dealer for warranty work. And I am quite reluctant to take it all the way back again. It took them 4 weeks last time and I'm in the height of my charity work and will be needing the MH.

If someone culd direct me on where else I could find fault, it would be a great help

I may be wrong but doesn't the 12v only work from the leisure battery? The lights etc. dont work when the engine is on, only when the ignition is switched off.

Correct me if i'm wrong.

The fridge should work when driving along and the battery should charge when switched to battery when driving along.

Paul

The lights should work off the engine battery when the engine is off, I imagine for emergency use only as you wouldn't want to flatten the engine battery.

The control panel should show the state of both batteries but according to the control panel either the battery has had it, or someone has knocked it (lol)

I have a rocker switch on my control panel, left is engine battery, right is leisure battery and centre is off.

Crag