insuring a car as well as Motorhome

Guest JudgeMental

Guest JudgeMental

at the moment my 60% protected no claims bonus is on the van. my wife has the car in her name and me as a second driver.

my daughter is 17 next month so my plan is to sell the car and buy a likle one that they can share and buy another for myself.

Problem is as my bonus is on van and getting silly quaotes for the second car.

any one have an idea how to get around this.

I have the same problem. Apparently there are some companies which will actually acknowledge the fact that you have full no claims on another vehicle and give you the discount (or sometimes two years' discount) on the second vehicle. I can't find out which one it is. :-(

However, Confuseddotcom may be able to help you with the best quotation.

It's really frustrating - I have been driving for over forty years without any convictions or claims arising from 'my fault' and yet I get a maximum of five years with ONE vehicle. Try confused.com.

Hi Judge

We had the same problem but in reverse, or least ways all our vehicles were insured in my name with my wife as name (though on one the main) driver, all vehicles with full no claims bonus. We then decided that my wife should have one under her own insurance in her name and we tried all ways with most companies and the best deal we got was two years consession bonus on a new policy with Direct Line. So good luck I hope you can get a better outcome than us but have no better suggestion.

One suggestion I have just thought of, could you change your insurance from the motorhome to a car using the full no claims and then re-insure the motorhome with one of the companies that mirrors your 'car' insurance?

You should be able to do that on the same day to give continuity of insurance.

Bas