Fuel Protest Convoy

Mike Parke

This topic is indirectly covers on other threads but I wanted a 'sole topic' thead to cover a specific point.

As a retired Poice Officer I was disappointed and saddened to hear the B.B.C news report that the Police had handed all convoy drivers a note stating that if the convey moved too slowly or used the middle and lane 3 of the motorway drivers would be liable to be arrested under the Public Order Act for causing alarm, harrassment or distress. Surely the Public Order Act was not designed for such a use and, in any case, I cannot think of anyone who would be 'alarmed ect'.

I suggest that it is the Police using 'political correctness' to distance themselves from a popular demo and possibly, worse, a 'senior officer' looking for 'brownie points'!

These are, after all, voters exercising their right to protest about something which not only effects their livelyhood but the economy of the country and all residents who have to make use of the internal combustion engine and all it's spin offs i.e. food, shopping ect.

Mike Parke - 2008-05-27 11:57 PM

That notwithstanding I do not think the Police should abuse the law for its own ends.

Further no political party would be able to take the wrath of the general public if a a fuel duty reduction was not across the board. surely.

But no-one has yet begun armed insurrection over the massively lower duty on deisel that all farmers are (and have been for decades) only having to pay.......

Nor over the massive tax-free mileage allowances that MP's and Ministers award themselves.......

I'm afraid it seems in fact that UK Governments have for many decades already been getting away with only giving road fuel duty reductions to certain groups.

Hi Mike

The average "Copper" - I am told by a friend who is in the force - look upon their politically correct brown nosing "senior officers" (and the Chief Constable of North Wales is one that is held up for serious derision!) with disdain.