Is the Forum running slow tonight.

Hymer C 9.

J9withdogs - 2007-11-13 8:00 PM

Is there a programme for raising a hard-drive from the dead *-)

Is the hard drive really dead or just not booting into the OS? If it is the latter then you should be able to re-format it and reload the OS.

If it really seems to be dead and it contains must have files then there are companies which can resurrect drives - but they are expensive.

A cheaper alternative (though by no means guaranteed to work) is to bash the drive on a concrete floor - might just free up something stuck - and then install it in another machine as a slave to extract the files. Sounds drastic but I have seen it done by techie colleagues when I worked in IT.

On no account take the drive to bits because that will definitely cream cracker it.

To guarantee beating identity theft before dumping the disk, place on a concrete floor, don safety goggles and belt it several times with a sledge hammer.

Graham

Wow - drastic measures!

I have my pet computer man working on it as we speak (I seem to have 'pet' for all circumstances!)

I do have back-ups of most of my work so just a minor inconvenience, I hope.

As long as you guys don't think that I am on here 24/7 - I do have a life! (lol)

Sorry Graham but I do not agree with your suggestion to "smack it on a hard concrete floor" unless you..........

A/ Really have tried everything else with no luck, or......

B/ Really know what you are doing, or.......

C/ just want to destroy a drive completely.

The disc itself is quite fragile as are the read/write heads and smacking it on a hard surface will almost certainly render it completely FUBAR.

Data recovery can be done by most decent computer shops nowadays, I recently had to have it done :$ but I learned the hard way and back up daily now. Anyway they managed to retrieve almost all of my data and thankfully all of the really important stuff and it only cost me £45 inc VAT.

D.

Mel B - 2007-11-13 7:49 PM

Carole