Water hosepipe

Hillbum

As a newbie, I would like to ask advice about Fresh Water hoses.

1 What length of hosepipe is recommended (never filled up on site before)?

2 Anyone had experience of the X Hose, the incredible expanding/shrinking hose?

Thanks

I have a 3 metre garden hose with a range of tap adapters

All depends on site layout I use a 5 litre water carrier to top up if not moving the MH some use a watering can

I fill up 2 x 2 litre bottles of water for drinking tea coffee

Hope this helps

Ron

It is recommended that you use a blue,food quality hose, as it doesn't leach plastisisers into your tank.

Personnaly I just use a 5 metre garden hose as it is more flexible for storage, i just run water through it for a little while before filling. I saw the shrinking hose at Harrogate and thought it a good idea but far to pricey. I would buy one at half the price then carry it in a bucket as you don't need to coil it, then have two ways to refill.

I got one off ebay, yellow in colour, similar to this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DRAPER-12MM-X-30M-HEAVY-DUTY-WATERING-GARDEN-HOSE-PIPE-/151032545456?pt=UK_Home_Garden_GardenEquipment_HandTools_SM&hash=item232a3dc0b0

Does the job fine, free delivery in our case and doesn't kink. I run it through with a blast of water before using it each time.

Excellent :-D

Hi,, we use 1 of those green curly ones with beautiful brass fittings,I've seen them in most garden centres, and the plastic fittings all work fine with them, and if we need to we can use two of them to give us 50 metres. CG made a natty little bag which contains them, and I guess they take up about the same space as a bucket, but the shape is a bit different. Hey don't seem to get tangled in the gag.

AGD

I have 2 hose lengths: one about 5 metres long, and the other about 10 metres long. Both fitted with the push-fit plastic instant connector thingies.