Dometic Fridge trying to kill me!

veletron

Hi

My dometic 9 series RML 9335 fridge stopped working on 12V, and then started making a smell before blowing its 20A 12V fuse. I have only just had time to investigate the issue over christmas.

The vent outside is tiny so the fridge had to come out inside the van. The issue was immediately evident with a charred control panel which had actually got so hot as to sever the 12V positive wire at the top.

Not hugely amused by this - its a safety hazard especially with gas about the place. Will raise it with Dometic as such, but I suspect I am going to end up buying a new control panel @ £loads.

Nowt wrong with the 12V element - it measures 0.9Ohms which gives the expected 170W @ 12V - the issue is down to poor engineering, pure and simple - the electrics are not built to cope with the load (I am an electronics engineer by trade).

https://photos.veletron.com/_data/i/upload/2017/12/27/20171227173339-79753229-me.jpg

Pics: https://photos.veletron.com/index.php?/category/371

Nigel

But, step back a moment, Nigel. :-) How old is the van? How many hours would you estimate your fridge has been running on 12V during its life?

I assume it must have been on 12V while you were driving, so what could have caused so high a current to flow if the element is within spec? In essence it is a very simple device with a fixed resistance heating element that should be self-limiting in terns of the current flowing - albeit the voltage wobbles around a bit over time. What could have caused so much heat locally to that terminal?

Could the terminal clamp have been left loose when the supply cable was installed, to cause arcing and heat? Any other possible explanations that might suddenly arise?