NASA BM1

mikejkay

Just found the answer: Press the V&A button a second time and the display will show the starter battery voltage and current. The manual states " when displaying the starter battery’s voltage, the

instrument continues to monitor all aspects of the domestic battery" which would suggest that ampere hours is not available for the starter battery.

Anybody got any real world experience? I thought that the BM1 was quite popular.

Back in the 80s I've had experience on inshore sea fishing boats of NASA marine instruments, depth sounder, vhf radio, navigation and it was all well designed, easy to use and reliable, if pricey, kit that did exactly what they said it would. Support and repair was also reputedly good back then although we never had need of it and I have no recent experience of NASA kit. Maybe have a look on the yachting or boating forums for feedback as that was/is their primary market?

I have a NASA BM1 Compact fitted to monitor the leisure battery.

The manual for the "compact" version only makes reference to monitoring the leisure batteries. In the Q&A section it states that it is only designed to monitor one battery bank.

Maybe the standard BM1 can monitor both leisure and starter batteries - I don't know.

I purchased the Compact version because it fitted better into the space available for mounting. Also, I only wanted to monitor the leisure battery anyway.

I've found it to be a very useful tool to monitor charging and discharge currents and of course an accurate display of the battery voltage.