Thule step stops working

peterjl

Hi

I have a Thule slide out step that stopped working. It has a warning buzzer not an automatic retract.

Last weekend I started engine to drive off ramps and, as the buzzer was making a din, my wife pressed button and retracted step. All fine thus far.

Went to use later and step not working. Dead as a dodo. No hint it’s jammed but any trace of movement.

So the first step is to check the fuse, but where is it?

I assume it runs from Elecktri block/hab battery but all those fuses are ok.

There is no manual with wiring diagram.

The dealer doesn’t know which fuse it is even though they are a Globecar dealer/ importer. Do t want to drive there cos it’s out of warranty plus round trip 260 miles but if I have to I will.

Found Thule manual online and it’s a 16amp fuse,

Soooooo, would this be fused from the hab unit or off the vehicle fuse box or just have its own fuse somewhere.

I am not an electrician, I haven’t got a multimeter. But I think I will source one from amazon, if I can find one easy to use.

Any thoughts, ideas, much appreciated.

Peter

C776B802-C5DF-421A-8647-8E8D2F465267.jpeg.950a94ddcb10613fadadd76918a21c38.jpeg

Peter,

With a Thule/Omnistep I would expect 4 wires to be connected to the step.

The motor operating wires are coloured orange and violet.

These wires will connect to the control switch.

The other two wires at the switch will be +ve and -ve (earth) supply.

The switch is normally connected so that when idle, both orange and violet wires are connected to supply -ve.

Pressing the OUT button on the switch, connects the violet wire to the 12V +ve supply. The step extends.

Pressing the IN button on the switch, connects the orange wire to the 12V +ve supply. The step retracts.

The other two wires from the step are from the step IN limit switch, which is closed until the step is almost fully retracted. In your installation the limit switch is used to switch off the warning buzzer.