Stuck on a grass pitch!

Ned Swift

Howdedoodly!!!!!!!!

I am spending some of this wet and wintry period at a site with no hardstanding - aaaggggh , I hear you cry!

How can I prevent myself getting stuck? What are the best solutions to this mud spinning problem?

All ideas welcome, serious and bizarre

Not Stuck Ned :-)

Guest Tracker

Park with all four wheels on something hard like a paving slab, a couple of bricks, a plank of wood or anything firm that will spread the load and prevent that sinking feeling.

Park with the front wheels on an access road and if the site owner objects either go elsewhere or advise him of your vans fine ploughing capabilities on his nice turf!

Go and camp somewhere else?

Ask the site owner for something firm to park on as no doubt he would prefer you to not plough your own furrows.

Ask the site owner to get his tractor warmed up to tow you out

Ned, I've been researching what might help since I bought my van 18 months ago. We mainly use CL's so getting stuck has been a worry for the whole time we have had the van - given the weather over the period and our uncanny ability to act as a "rain magnet".

I've read interminable amounts about mats, ribbed plastic sheets, planks, (we have all three on board now and been used with limited success), sand ladders/waffle boards, grip trax, goclaws, chains, spikes spiders, ground anchors and winches etc etc and all of it was inconclusive, except that chains do work on snow, apparently.

In the end, I ordered go claws yesterday at £122.86 the pair and they should arrive tomorrow. If (when!) I use them in anger I shall post a full report on this forum.