Teething problems with my new van. Ha ha....

Becky

I was a dentist before retiring. Someone has just phoned me re a dental problem.

Anyway, collected my beautiful Autosleeper Ascot last Thursday and drove to a site near Bath (for 5 days), which necessitated driving through the city at rush hour. But I needn't have worried, no-one else was driving up those narrow nearly vertical back alleys anyway. I had to use the pavement to avoid trees and many parked cars. Still, I got there.

The point is that the framework of the seating in the rear lounge has come away from the sides, and I am sure it was going up those steep road. The handbrake wouldn't hold on one where there was a cross road, and I had to use the clutch to help. Made the van jump about a bit :-( :-(

Then the batteries went flat. At least they were down to 11.3-4 V by each morning and I was out all evening, and used practically no lights. I used a lantern one evening as there as so little leccy left. I had to go for a drive each day as it was.

I would say that 11.4 is very low, even for a deep cycle battery. And I didn't use anything that wasn't essential, like the water pump and toilet flush.

Window in the door was cracked around the bottom, not very badly, but it would get worse.

Just mainly silly little things, except the batteries and the furniture frame.

But the van itself is just lovely, easy to drive and park, nice to live in and mainly very good. The leccy thing was a pain with no hook-up. And I was away for 5 days, so a drive each day helped. But by evening, the voltage was too low to run the TV properly, in my opinion anyway.

I go away to C&CC Photogroup meets which are always on special sites, like rugby club pitches for example, as was the case this time. But you do need a van with large or at least reliable batteries.

I also need a new habitation door window, some trim tidying up, and the waste tank sensor checked as it didn't see to work.