Multimeter results!

peterjl

Hi

Searching through the MMM re batteries there is often advice to use a multimeter, but having purchased one i am not sure how to interpret the results!

Sooo measuring the volts of the battery would you expect to see a different reading with battery charger on & off (reading is 12.2V in both situations on vehicle battery and 12.5v on leisure battery - i switched the charger between the batteries when i checked them))

I have a battery master fitted but it is showing a green light all the time with the readings from the battery

Leisure 12.5

Vehicle 12.2v

I thought that if vehicle battery lower than Leisure battery one was supposed to charge the other during which the light changes to amber.

Can anyone enlighten me??

Confused of Amersham

Peter

A charged battery at rest should read over 12.6v, usually up to 12.8v. When on charge the terminal voltage should be either 13.8v or 14.4v depending on the type of battery charger. It sounds as if the charger is not working or maybe the fuse has blown.

A starter battery reading as low as 12.2v shows it is nearly flat and quite likely unable to start the engine or your multimeter is inaccurate.

Phil.

Battery mate works when the engine battery is app 1 volt lower than leisure battery current will flow from leisure to engine battery whilst this is happening the light will turn red. When the battery charger is charging a battery the voltage should read from 13.8 up to 14.4 or slightly higher depending on type of charger. when charger is switched off there is free surface voltage present so you should allow about an hour before checking the true voltage of t6he battery . allways remember that even a multimeter will create a small spark when connecting to a battery and the cheaper meters are not always 100% accurate ?