Algae build up in loo flush

Kipper

Hi to all

Hope I am doing this right as it's my first time a this.

I have a seperate water flush tank for my cassette toilet and have always used Thetford Pink fluid in it. The system has a bad algae build up such that when I flush the water, loads of black algae is flushed around the bowl.

Has anyone had similar problems or knows how to solve the problem?

We never had this until about 5 years ago. I suspect they must have changed the mix in the pink stuff. Our problem was that in spite of repeated draining and flushing it kept coming back and occasionally a piece of the 'black stuff' would block the pick up pipe for the flush. I ended up buying a length of 1/4in pipe so I blow down the flush pipe to clear it. Bit crude but effective. When we bought a new van I stopped using the pink stuff and we have had no problem so far (touch wood).

We never use the flush tank because of this, we got around the problem in two ways, first we strategically place a couple of sheets of loo paper in the bowl for a number 2, this in itself results in less need to flush, then a quick blast with the shower head does the rest for us. As for chemicals I simply don't see the point apart from keeping down smells, as others say we use a washing product like Oxyclean which I believe is biodegradable ;-)

ekka - 2011-02-17 6:21 AM

We never use the flush tank because of this, we got around the problem in two ways, first we strategically place a couple of sheets of loo paper in the bowl for a number 2, this in itself results in less need to flush, then a quick blast with the shower head does the rest for us. As for chemicals I simply don't see the point apart from keeping down smells, as others say we use a washing product like Oxyclean which I believe is biodegradable ;-)

You are missing the point of chemicals,.