oil filter change

I apologise if this offends but if you've never changed an oil filter then you are a complete novice where engines are concerned.

Having said that it is not anything special, the filter is a spin on canister type and fairly straightforward to change but please do the oil as well. The filter may well be verry tight and you will almost certainly need a tool to remove it.

D.

Guest Peter James

Screw it up by hand, but about as tight as an average person can with one hand, to avoid it working loose.

I still remember the first one I did. Following the instructions in the manual exactly, I turned it until the gasket had made contact then another half a turn. Didn't feel very tight, and it wasn't. It worked loose, I lost all the oil. At least I learned how to strip and rebuild an engine :$

Guest peter
Have a container ready to catch the oil as you remove it or you will be taking an early bath. You will wear suitable gloves of course.

Guest Tracker

I echo Dave's sentiment, with respect, if you need to ask how you might wish to consider getting someone else who does have the experience to show you how it should be done?

Not only will you know how to do it right next time but you won't risk losing all your oil and needing a new engine at massive cost!

Sorry if that is not the answer you were looking for but it's better than being stuck in Pissindoon with a wrecked engine or a gert puddle of oil on yer driveway!

You've really never changed the oil and filter on anything before?

Ok.

Google for how to change engine oil, and how to change oil filter.

It's nothing to be scared of at all, it's possibly the easiest part of any routine maintenance.......but, I'd echo the advice from others to get someone who knows how to do it to help you the first time.

And don't forget to smear new oil around the seal of the new filter before you spin it onto the threaded location and the tighten it up.