Timing Belt 2.3 diesel Fiat. Sept 2005

AL68

To change or not to change, that is the question. Ok so I think I will change it and have had a quote of around £250 though I did not ask if it was only the belt that would be replaced.

I am thinking of doing this work myself unless i get some strong reasons for not having a go. I have a few degrees in structural engineering and have replaced gearboxes in LR Discovery, clutches and most recently head gasket on a Fiat Punto which brought me very close to the cam belt. I am retired and have plenty of time but hate spending money!!!!

So, any advice or information would be very useful. Is there a workshop manual for these engines? Anyone done it and could point out the tricky bits? Any special tools needed?

Thanks

Guest 1footinthegrave

I did buy a Fiat official workshop manual for exactly this vehicle, in fact I still have it on disc somewhere, but I have to tell you it was about as much use as an ashtray on a motorbike.

I always used to do all my own maintenance including cambelt changes on the likes of Sierra's, but my advice would be unless you can get something like the old type Haynes manual, and the use of a four post vehicle lift, I'd spend the £250. No doubt others will have a different view.

Hello,

It is not the most difficult cam belt to change as the twin cams are synchronised by a chain at the other end of the head that does not get disturbed.

However;

You will definitely need the correct timing pin set, it is not a job you can improvise on and these will cost you about £30.

It is not mentioned in the workshop manual but it is imperative that the bolt that holds the adjustable tensioner is changed during the job. You absolutely must not use the old bolt as it will be stretched and will not properly tighten if used again. Our local Iveco dealer got caught out with this last year and we had a variable timing van! We now do them ourselves following their expensive lesson.