Leisure battery---Overcharge??????

mikemelson

Hi,

In the latest MMM there is an article on the Leisure Battery, it states, "batteries should cycle between 75% and 100% of full charge"

Also, at the end of this article is a table showing a 100% charged battery at 12.73volt,

Mine is currently reading 14.2V, is this overcharged?, is it dangerous? The magazine does not mention this & its enough to get an electricity-illiterate idiot like myself worried.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated,

Mike.

Guest Tracker

The only ways that I can think of that a 12 volt battery can show 14.2 volts are either whilst it is being charged or if you have a faulty volt meter - but I'm not a battery expert and I am happy to learn something new if it is possible!

Have you tried disconnecting one terminal and then rechecking or using a different voltmeter?

Following on from Rich's reply.

It would be very unusual if your battery was reading 14.2v if it were "off-charge", and if this is the case, then I would suspect a problem with whatever meter you are using.

If, however, you are hooked-up, with your charger switched on, then such a voltage (anything up to around 14.4v depending on the type of charger installed) would under many circumstances be entirely normal.

Reasonably modern, multi-stage chargers will initially cut in at around this voltage, and continue fully recharging the battery until the circuitry decides it can drop back (possibly in stages) to a "float" voltage applied for a good few hours simply to maintain the fully charged state of the battery (and this will be higher than a fully-charged battery itself will deliver - the float charge voltage normally being around 13.5/13.8v). Subsequent voltage drop/use of the battery will cause the charger to cut-in at the 14v or so level, and go through the cycle again.