Van Converters

Oor Wullie

Hi Folks

I'm new to this forum game, and nearly new to motorhoming. I WILL be new to motorhoming if I can get a little help from this forum. We are looking to have a Mercedes Sprinter van converted and, as we live in northern Aberdeenshire, there are no converters nearby. As we will need to travel quite far, we have tried to narrow our search down using the MMM and the internet and are thinking of visiting two converters. S & L Motorhomes in Selby, and Nu Venture in Wigan. Have any of you got any experience of using these two converters? Would like to get some opinions before making the long journeys.

Thanks

Oor Wullie

Nu Venture have a very good reputation for quality conversions. MMM's Andy Stothert has one (his second) and the two I've seen seemed to be well built.

Have you thought of Mill Garage, Duns, Berwickshire. They convert customer vans and advertise regularly in MMM but I've no personal experience of them - www.millgaragecoachworks.co.uk

Nu Venture are the better known but that doesn't necessarily mean much. It's a big undertaking and if it were me I'd visit both, have a look at their workmanship (not the shiny bits they would prefer you to see) and get a general feel for the attitude and capability of the workforce.

Better still, as others have said, if you can find someone closer you can perhaps be a bit more hands-on.

All interior components are sourced from a handful of parent companies so the only thing that really needs bottoming out is how skilled the fitters are and more importantly how much they care about what they do. Oh, and the cost!

Do you already have the sprinter?

If not - maybe reconsider as they aren't an ideal van to convert - the walls are curved (meaning less upper space) and the floor is sloping upwards to the rear, so conversions are costlier and you don't get in as much as you do in others.

I've you've got one already, then no worries :)