VAT

fred22

Hi

Any VAT experts out there?

I have just had my vehicle serviced and it needed an expensive part replacing.

My garage were able to find a second hand part advertised on the net at £105, this included vat.

My garage has now billed me for £105 +vat= £126

Is this correct?. I appear to be paying two lots of VAT

I could have purchased them my self for £105 and then asked the garage to fit them( which they have done before)

As I see it, the correct procedure should be that the garage should show this item in their

books as a purchase at £87.50 with vat at £17.50, they could then claim the £17.50 back in their vat return.

On my bill they should charge me £87.50 for the parts and then add £17.50 for vat. I will then be paying the same as the items were advertised and purchased for???

The Inland Revenue get 20% and every one is happy.

The company selling the parts is VAT registered

Am I being too simple

Fred

I'm no expert but it seems to depends on whether a garage is VAT registered or not - as your garage is VAT registered they SHOULD NOT be paying VAT on the parts and therefore you should just be paying for the gross cost of the parts plus VAT, not VAT on VAT. However, it may be that they are doing it to make a 'mark-up' on the item for the 'service' they have provided.

The last post in this thread explains it.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=3206250

And this gives comments about the mark-up which they appear to have added.

http://www.pistonheads.com/gassing/topic.asp?t=766661

I would be extremely annoyed if they had 'offered' to get the part for you, rather than you getting it, as it would appear to have cost you the extra so called 'VAT' on the part to line their own pockets. :-S