Battery Life

roserod

roserod - 2012-10-27 4:26 PM

I have a 2008 autocruise starburst a new habitation battery fitted how long should charge in both battery last as after about 10 days almost flat , as i am new to motor home only had since july can anyone help .

"Charge in both battery." Have you two leisure batterys but have only replaced one, is the other the starter battery, or is this a typo? How long a battery will last depends on a) its capacity in Ah, b) how fully charged it was at the outset, and c) how much electricity is being used. It also depends on age and condition, but you've said it is a new battery, so let's assume it is a good one.

There is also an issue around what you mean by "flat". A fully charged battery should read around 12.8V. As power is consumed the voltage falls. A voltage reading below 12V is, to all intents and purposes, "flat". However, the battery will continue delivering power, with its voltage falling, to below 11V. The problem is that at so low a voltage the battery is being damaged, and its life considerably shortened. As a general rule, it is better not to run a battery below 60% of its stated capacity. In addition, leisure batteries should also be discharged relatively slowly, as the quicker the power is used, the more the battery struggles to keep up. That is to say a 100Ah battery should not have more than 60Ah taken from it before it is re-charged, but also that whereas it will easily deliver 1A for 60 hours, it will definitely not deliver 60A for 1 hour. It is limited by its chemistry.

So, I'm afraid more detail will be needed to answer your question.