Motorhome awnings

Beebee007

Hi I am a bit new to Motorhomes and looking for advice.

I have a Autocrusie starblazer fitted with a Fiamma wind out awning. I now want to get a awning or the Fiamma safari room and would appreciate any comments form owners who can recommend the best to buy. I am looking for a awning that I can put up on my own as my wife can no longer help as she did when

We had a caravan +I am now 63 I don't want anything to heavy.

Thank. Beebee.

Hi Beebee.

Welcome to the forum.

Like many motorhomes we too have a Fiamma wind out shade.

I call it a shade because that is really what it is good for. Unlike a caravan awning which is secured to the caravan side channel and the floor, the motorhome version is much more fragile and prone to damage by the wind when it is out but unsecured. We only use ours as a shade or shelter when the wind is low.

You will find plenty of safari rooms for sale in the magazines and web sites because, IMO, they are a pain in the proverbial. Not only are they bulky to store but tedious and taxing to put up. So unless you intend staying in one place for at least three nights most people don't put them up.

Our solution for extra privacy or shelter is the single sheet Fiamma Blocker Pro and we also have a Sun View Side for wind protection on its own. This is a lighter and less bulky solution which can be used in several variations. However, we rarely stay more than four nights anywhere and this quick up and down solution works well for us.

Hope this gives you an idea of other arrangements rather than a safari room.

Hi Beebee & welcome to the forum.

I have to agree with previous comments. The Safari Rooms are bulky, heavy & most appear to take as much erecting as a Caravan Awning (i.e. hours)

Many for sale have comments to say "only used once" or "very little use" which IMHO says it all.