Recommendation for first campsite ?

ChrissyG

Hiring a Motor home for the first time in August with the view of purchasing our own in the near future.

We dont want to venture too far from home (Ayrshire) as we only have it for 3 days. We were thinking about the Dumfries and Galloway area and wondered if you could suggest a site for us.

I have looked at Loch Ken and Lochmaben and reviews sound good. As we've never done this before we just want to mess around and get the feel of the van and workings etc more than the amenities of the site.

I have been reading loads of stuff about motorhoming and its putting the fear of death into me with regard to all the things that you need to know !......bejesus its a degree we need.

So .........do we need to level it, with what, how etc....are these blocks/chocks or whatever supplied and does everyone use them. Are most sites gravelled or concreted....do vans get stuck in soft mud etc if it rains.

And as for the toilet!..........I'm a nurse and I'm well used to the contents of a bedpan but on reading one of the more humourous articles on open/closed blades and criss crossed loo paper........well to say I'm confused.com..is an understatement !

Hellllllppppp please ?

Hi and welcome to the madhouse. Just do it. What is necessary will become apparent quite quickly. Toilet requirements are that you empty before it is too full. All sites have the facilities to empty. Everything else will present itself and you will develop a response. We can all tell you what to do and when to do it but it all means nothing until you have experienced it. Just go out and do it. We all carry levelling blocks and use them as we need them. The site will dictate. I have never been stuck in mud yet but it will happen somethime. If going on sites then the pitches will be reasonably level and all other facilities will be available. Enjoy, it is a great life.

Art